top of page

SUNRISE

At the limits of possibility

  Documentary 2024

An international consortium led by the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research is planning the flight of the most capable solar observatory ever to leave the Earth's surface. Carried by a stratospheric balloon, the observatory Sunrise III is set to fly from Sweden to Canada in the summer of 2022. Free from disturbances of the Earth's atmosphere, under conditions resembling space, it is expected to continuously observe the solar surface with unprecedented precision during its five-day flight. The anticipated dataset will influence astrophysics for decades to come.

 

The film follows the Sunrise III team during the final sixteen months before the flight. The essential modules are already constructed and are receiving their finishing touches in the clean rooms of the Göttingen Institute. The scientific instruments from partners in Japan and Spain are on their way. Likewise, the gondola developed in the USA is en route. Now they must assemble the entire system, test it, and transport it to Esrange Space Center north of the Arctic Circle. There, they have about four weeks to get the observatory ready for its flight into the stratosphere.

 

The Sunrise documentary focusses on the work of the people who make such a research mission possible - long before any scientific results are available. Additionally, the film shows that the collective pursuit of technical and scientific excellence can also be influenced by unpredictable factors.

Germany, Sweden 2024, 90min

A film by Johannes Kohout & Janek Totaro

in cooperation with the Max-Plank-Institute for Solar System Research

Foundet by the Max-Plank-Society

bottom of page

top of page

SUNRISE

An den Grenzen des Machbaren

Dokumentarfilm 2024

Ein internationales Konsortium unter Leitung des Max-Planck-Instituts für Sonnensystemforschung plant den Flug des leistungsfähigsten Sonnenobservatoriums, das jemals den Erdboden verlassen hat. Getragen von einem Stratosphärenballon soll das Observatorium Sunrise III im Sommer 2022 von Schweden Richtung Kanada fliegen. Frei von Störungen der Erdatmosphäre, unter Bedingungen wie im Weltraum, soll es während des fünftägigen Fluges kontinuierlich die Sonnenoberfläche mit bisher unerreichter Präzision beobachten. Der zu erwartende Datensatz würde die Astrophysik noch jahrzehntelang beeinflussen.

 

Der Film begleitet das Team von Sunrise III in den letzten sechzehn Monaten vor dem Flug. Die wesentlichen Module sind fertig konstruiert und bekommen gerade in den Reinräumen des Göttinger Instituts ihren letzten Schliff. Die wissenschaftlichen Instrumente von Partnern aus Japan und Spanien sind auf dem Weg. Ebenso die Ballongondel, die in den USA entwickelt wurde. Nun muss das Team das gesamte System zusammenbauen, testen und zum Esrange Space Center nördlich des Polarkreis transportieren. Dort bleibt ihm etwa acht Wochen, um das Observatorium in die Stratosphäre zu bringen.

Sunrise stellt die Arbeit der Menschen ins Zentrum, die eine solche Forschungsmission überhaupt ermöglichen und zeigt, dass das gemeinsame Streben nach wissenschaftlicher Höchstleistung von unkalkulierbaren Faktoren beeinflusst wird.

Deutschland, Schweden 2024, 90 Min

ein Film von Johannes Kohout & Janek Totaro

in Kooperation mit dem Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung

Gefördert durch die Max Planck Förderstiftung

bottom of page